Skip to content

Annual Meeting Section Program Chairs

What Are Section Program Chairs?

Representatives from each section, known as the Section Program Chairs, will conduct the peer review of proposal submissions directed to their respective section. If you have questions about content to submit to a section and/or the award opportunities provided by a section, please feel free to contact the program chair(s) for the section in question.

Section Program Chairs are responsible for peer reviewing the following proposal submission types that are submitted to their section for primary (and sometimes, secondary) review:

The American Anthropological Association thanks the 2022 Program Chairs who will enhance the AAA Annual Meeting through the volunteering of their time.

Return to Table of Contents

List of 2022 Program Chairs

1. American Ethnological Society (AES)

Erica James (ejames@mit.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

2. Anthropology & Environment Society (A&E)

Primary Chair: Jamie Haverkamp
(haverkja@jmu.edu)

Secondary Chair: Camille Frazier (cfrazier@clarkson.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

Amanda Logan (Amanda.logan@northwestern.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

4. Association for Africanist Anthropology (AfAA)

Primary Chair: Omolade Adunbi (Oadunbi@umich.edu)

Secondary Chair: Kristin Hedges (hedgeskr@gvsu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

5. Association for Feminist Anthropology (AFA)

Shanya Cordis (scordis@spelman.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

6. Association for Political and Legal Anthropology (APLA)

Primary Chair: Hayal Akarsu (hayalakarsu@gmail.com)

Secondary Chair: Sahana Ghosh (sahana.ghosh@nus.edu.sg)

Return to Table of Contents

7. Association for Queer Anthropology (AQA)

Primary Chair: Tamar Shirinian (tshirini@utk.edu)

Secondary Chair: Jason Alley (alleyj@beloit.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

8. Association for The Anthropology of Policy (ASAP)

Primary Chair: Renita Thedvall (renita.thedvall@score.su.se)

Secondary Chair: Rebecca Peters (rebecca.peters@oswego.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

9. Association of Black Anthropologists (ABA)

Mieka Polanco (profmpolanco@gmail.com)

Return to Table of Contents

10. Anthropology of Consciousness (Formerly the Society for the Anthropology of Consciousness) (AC)

Primary Chair: Nicole Torres (torres.ni@gmail.com)

Secondary Chair: Christopher Santiago (humcolored@gmail.com)

Return to Table of Contents

11. Association of Indigenous Anthropologists (AIA)

Valerie Lambert (vlambert@email.unc.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

12. Association of Latina and Latino Anthropologists (ALLA)

Leo Chavez (lchavez@uci.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

13. Association of Senior Anthropologists (ASA)

Maria Cattell (mgcattell@aol.com)

Return to Table of Contents

14. Biological Anthropology Section (BAS)

Holly Dunsworth (holly_dunsworth@uri.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

15. Council for Museum Anthropology (CMA)

Bill Wood (woodw@uwm.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

16. Council On Anthropology and Education (CAE)

Angelina Castagno (angelina.castagno@nau.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

17. Critical Urban Anthropology Association (CUAA) (Formerly the
Society for Urban, National, And Transnational/Global Anthropology)

Susan Falls (sfalls@scad.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

18. Culture and Agriculture (C&A)

Seth Murray (dsmurray@ncsu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

19. Evolutionary Anthropology Society (EAS)

Karen Kramer ( karen.kramer@anthro.utah.edu )

Return to Table of Contents

20. General Anthropology Division (GAD)

Beth Reddy (reddy@mines.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

 

21. Middle East Section (MES)

Nell Gabiam (ngabiam@iastate.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

22. National Association for The Practice of Anthropology (NAPA)

Primary Chair: Cathleen Crain (ccrain@ltgassociates.com)

Secondary Chair: Erica Hawvermale (e.hawvermale@live.com)

Return to Table of Contents

23. National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA)

Bridget Kelly-Vincz (bgkv@umich.edu

Return to Table of Contents

24. Society for Anthropological Sciences (SAS)

Toni Copeland (tonicopeland@gmail.com)

Return to Table of Contents

25. Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges (SACC)

Jenn Zovar (jzovar@whatcom.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

26. Society for Cultural Anthropology (SCA)

Andrea Ballestero (aballes@usc.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

27. Society for East Asian Anthropology (SEAA)

Ellen Oxfeld (oxfeld@middlebury.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

28. Society for Economic Anthropology (SEA)

Primary Chair: A.J. Faas (aj.faas@sjsu.edu)

Secondary Chair: Brienne Berry (brieanne.berry@maine.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

29. Society for Humanistic Anthropology (SHA)

Primary Chair: Helena Wulff (helena.wulff@socant.su.se)

Secondary Chair: Petra Rethmann (rethman@mcmaster.ca)

Return to Table of Contents

30. Society for Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology (SLACA)

Carwil Bjork-James (c.bjork-james@vanderbilt.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

31. Society for Linguistic Anthropology (SLA)

Sandhya Narayanan (snarayanan@unr.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

32. Society for Medical Anthropology (SMA)

Erin Koch (erin.koch@uky.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

33. Society for Psychological Anthropology (SPA)

Jo Weaver (ljweaver@uoregon.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

34. Society for The Anthropology of Europe (SAE)

Marek Mikuš (mikus@eth.mpg.de)

Return to Table of Contents

35. Society for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition (SAFN)

Christy Spackman (Christy.Spackman@asu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

36. Society for The Anthropology of North America (SANA)

Juli Grigsby (jgrigsby@haverford.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

37. Society for The Anthropology of Religion (SAR)

Elaine Peña (eapena@gwu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

38. Society for The Anthropology of Work (SAW)

Lauren Hayes (lahayes@wayne.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

39. Society for Visual Anthropology (SVA)

Lindsey Feldman (lrfldman@memphis.edu)

Return to Table of Contents