Annual Meeting Section Program Chairs

What Are Section Program Chairs?

Representatives from each section, known as the Section Program Chairs, will conduct the peer review of proposal submissions directed to their respective section. If you have questions about content to submit to a section and/or the award opportunities provided by a section, please feel free to contact the program chair(s) for the section in question.

Section Program Chairs are responsible for peer reviewing the following proposal submission types that are submitted to their section for primary (and sometimes, secondary) review:

The American Anthropological Association thanks the 2020 Program Chairs who will enhance the AAA Annual Meeting through the volunteering of their time.

Return to Table of Contents

List of Program Chairs

1. American Ethnological Society (AES)

Tomas Matza (tomas.matza@pitt.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

2. Anthropology & Environment Society (A&E)

Primary Chair: Susannah Chapman (susannah.chapman@UQ.EDU.AU)

Jamie Haverkamp (haverkja@JMU.EDU)

Return to Table of Contents

Amanda Logan (Amanda.logan@northwestern.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

4. Association for Africanist Anthropology (AfAA)

Primary Chair: Kristin Hedges (hedgeskr@gvsu.edu)

Omolade Adunbi (Oadunbi@umich.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

5. Association for Feminist Anthropology (AFA)

Primary Chair: Alix Johnson (alix.johnson@ufl.edu)

Shanya Cordis (scordis@spelman.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

6. Association for Political and Legal Anthropology (APLA)

Primary Chair: Andrew Gilbert (Andrew.Gilbert@pm.me)

Hayal Akarsu (hayalakarsu@gmail.com)

Pablo Seward Delaporte (pseward@stanford.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

7. Association for Queer Anthropology (Formerly Society of Lesbian and Gay Anthropologists) (AQA)

Eric Plemons ( eplemons@email.arizona.edu )

Return to Table of Contents

8. Association for The Anthropology of Policy (Formerly The Interest Group On the Anthropology of Public Policy) (ASAP)

Christina Garsten ( christina.garsten@socant.su.se )

Return to Table of Contents

9. Association of Black Anthropologists (ABA)

Karen G. Williams ( ABAProgramCommittee@gmail.com )

Mieka Polanco (ABAProgramCommittee@gmail.com)

Return to Table of Contents

10. Anthropology of Consciousness (Formerly the Society for the Anthropology of Consciousness) (AC)

Primary Chair: Christina Callicott (christina.callicott@gmail.com)

Lewis Mehl-Madrona (mehlmadrona@gmail.com)

Dr. Katherine Lawson (katherine@dreamsheal.com)

Return to Table of Contents

11. Association of Indigenous Anthropologists (AIA)

Terry Scott Ketchum (tketchum@ecok.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

12. Association of Latina and Latino Anthropologists (ALLA)

Jonathan Rosa ( jdrosa@stanford.edu )

Return to Table of Contents

13. Association of Senior Anthropologists (ASA)

Maria Cattell (mgcattell@aol.com)

Return to Table of Contents

14. Biological Anthropology Section (BAS)

Holly Dunsworth ( holly_dunsworth@uri.edu )

Return to Table of Contents

15. Council for Museum Anthropology (CMA)

W (Bill) Warner Wood (woodw@uwm.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

16. Council On Anthropology and Education (CAE)

Mariela Nuñez-Janes (Mariela.Nunez-Janes@unt.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

17. Culture and Agriculture (C&A)

Primary Chair: Maia Dedrick (maia.dedrick@gmail.com)

Jennifer Sweeney Tookes (jtookes@georgiasouthern.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

18. Evolutionary Anthropology Society (EAS)

Brooke Scelza ( bscelza@gmail.com )

Return to Table of Contents

19. General Anthropology Division (GAD)

Primary Chair: Ira Bashkow (ib6n@virginia.edu)

Jennifer Carlson (jennycarlson@gmail.com)

Elizabeth Reddy (reddy@mines.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

 

20. Middle East Section (MES)

Narges Bajoghli (narges.bajoghli@jhu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

21. National Association for The Practice of Anthropology (NAPA)

Ellen Puccia (ellenpuccia@gmail.com)

Return to Table of Contents

22. National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA)

Amanda Francesca Santos ( francescavsantos@gmail.com )

Return to Table of Contents

23. Society for Anthropological Sciences (SAS)

Stephen Chrisomalis (chrisomalis@wayne.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

24. Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges (SACC)

John Norvell ( jnorvell@mtsac.edu )

Return to Table of Contents

25. Society for Cultural Anthropology (SCA)

Primary Chair: Andrea Muehlebach (Andrea.muehlebacj@utoronto.ca)

Andrea Ballestero (aballes@rice.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

26. Society for East Asian Anthropology (SEAA)

Primary Chair: Sonia Ryang (sonia.ryang@rice.edu)

Satsuki Kawano (skawano@uoguelph.ca)

Paul Christensen (paulc78@gmail.com)

Return to Table of Contents

27. Society for Economic Anthropology (SEA)

A.J. Faas (aj.faas@sjsu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

28. Society for Humanistic Anthropology (SHA)

Primary Chair: Andrea Conger (andreacconger@gmail.com)

Erik Aasland (e_aasland@fuller.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

29. Society for Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology (SLACA)

Primary Chair: Timothy Smith (smithtj2@appstate.edu)

Luisa Rollins Castillo (lrolli2@uic.edu)

Jordan Lynton (jylynton@iu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

30. Society for Linguistic Anthropology (SLA)

Kira Hall ( kira.hall@colorado.edu )

Return to Table of Contents

31. Society for Medical Anthropology (SMA)

Erin Koch (erin.koch@uky.edu)

Sia Beasley ( siabeasley@uky.edu )

Duana Fullwiley ( duana@stanford.edu )

Beatriz Reyes-Foster ( beatriz.reyes-foster@ucf.edu )

Return to Table of Contents

32. Society for Psychological Anthropology (SPA)

Primary Chair: Jo Weaver (ljweaver@uoregon.edu)

Bonnie Kaiser (bnkaiser@uscd.edu)

Kathy Trang (kathytrang.kt@gmail.com)

Return to Table of Contents

33. Society for The Anthropology of Europe (SAE)

Primary Chair: Kimberly Arkin (karkin@bu.edu)

Marek Mikuš (mikus@eth.mpg.de)

Return to Table of Contents

34. Society for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition (SAFN)

Primary Chair: Christy Spackman (Christy.Spackman@asu.edu)

Jesse Dart (jesse.dart@gmail.com)

Susannah Barr (sbarr144@fiu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

35. Society for The Anthropology of North America (SANA)

Primary Chair: Ruth Gomberg Munoz (rgombergmunoz@luc.edu)

Ana Croegaert (anacroegaert@gmail.com)

Return to Table of Contents

36. Society for The Anthropology of Religion (SAR)

Primary Chair: Roberta Ricucci (roberta.ricucci@unito.it)

Elaine Peña (eapena@gwu.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

37. Society for The Anthropology of Work (SAW)

Jennifer Shaw (jeshaw@tru.ca)

Return to Table of Contents

38. Society for Urban, National, And Transnational/Global Anthropology (SUNTA)

Primary Chair: Susan Falls (sfalls@scad.edu)

Deborah Pellow (dpellow@maxwell.syr.edu)

Christine Schwenkel (christina.schwenkel@ucr.edu)

Return to Table of Contents

39. Society for Visual Anthropology (SVA)

Ashley Stinnett (ashley.stinnett@wku.edu)

Michael Ennis-McMillan (mennis@skidmore.edu)

Alexander Fattal (afattal@ucsd.edu)

Lindsey Feldman (lrfldman@memphis.edu)

Return to Table of Contents