What Are Section Program Chairs?

Representatives from each section, known as the Section Program Chairs, will conduct the peer review of proposal submissions directed to their respective section. If you have questions about content to submit to a section and/or the award opportunities provided by a section, please feel free to contact the program chair(s) for the section in question.

Section Program Chairs are responsible for peer reviewing the following proposal submission types that are submitted to their section for primary (and sometimes, secondary) review:

  • oral presentation sessions,
  • roundtables,
  • conversations or debates,
  • interviews,
  • podcasts,
  • individually-volunteered papers,
  • flash presentation sessions,
  • posters (both in-person and virtual), and
  • talks

The American Anthropological Association and The Canadian Anthropology Society thank the 2023 Program Chairs who will enhance the AAA/CASCA Annual Meeting through the volunteering of their time.

Curious about what the peer review process entails? Learn more on the Peer Review Criteria and Process page!

List of 2023 Program Chairs

American Ethnological Society (AES)
Daromir Rudnyckyj (

Anthropology & Environment Society (A&E)
Primary Chair: Camille Frazier (
Secondary Chair: Eric Hirsch (

Anthropology of Consciousness (AC)
Lisa Gezon (

Archaeology Division (AD)
Lisa Overholtzer (

Association for Africanist Anthropology (AfAA)
Primary Chair: Omolade Adunbi (
Secondary Chair: Vivian Lu (

Association for Feminist Anthropology (AFA)
Primary Chair: Nessette Falu (
Secondary Chair: Risa Cromer (

Association for Political and Legal Anthropology (APLA)
Sahana Ghosh (

Association for Queer Anthropology (AQA)
Primary Chair: Tamar Shirinian (
Secondary Chair: Jason Alley (

Association for The Anthropology of Policy (ASAP)
Primary Chair: Sarah E Raskin (
Secondary Chair: Noemi Lendvai-Bainton (

Association of Black Anthropologists (ABA)
Mieka Polanco (

Association of Indigenous Anthropologists (AIA)
Primary Chair: Richard Meyers (
Secondary Chair:
Scott Ketchum (

Association of Latina/o and Latinx Anthropologists (ALLA)
Guillermina (Gina) Nunez (

Association of Senior Anthropologists (ASA)
Jean Schensul (

Biological Anthropology Section (BAS)
Adam Van Arsdale (

Council for Museum Anthropology (CMA)
Christina Hodge (

Council on Anthropology and Education (CAE)
Denni Blum (

Critical Urban Anthropology Association (CUAA)
Don Nonini (

Culture and Agriculture (C&A)
Megan Styles (

General Anthropology Division (GAD)
Katie A. Nelson (

Middle East Section (MES)
Nada Moumtaz (

National Association for The Practice of Anthropology (NAPA)
Primary Chair: Cathleen Crain (
Secondary Chair: Erica Hawvermale (

National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA)
Primary Chair: Joelle Jackson (
Secondary Chair: Sadie Blancaflor (

Society for Anthropological Sciences (SAS)
Toni Copeland (

Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges (SACC)
Jennifer Zovar (

Society for Cultural Anthropology (SCA)
Primary Chair: Yukiko Koga (
Secondary Chair:Ramah McKay (

Society for East Asian Anthropology (SEAA)
Ellen Oxfeld (

Society for Economic Anthropology (SEA)
Chris Vasantkumar (

Society for Humanistic Anthropology (SHA)
Petra Rethmann (

Society for Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology (SLACA)
Carwil Bjork-James (

Society for Linguistic Anthropology (SLA)
Sandhya Narayanan (

Society for Medical Anthropology (SMA)
Erin Koch (

Society for Psychological Anthropology (SPA)
Yehuda Goodman (

Society for the Anthropology of Europe (SAE)
Primary Chair: Bilge Firat (
Secondary Chair: Smoki Musaraj (

Society for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition (SAFN)
Primary Chair: Ryan Adams (
Secondary Chair: Christopher Laurent (

Society for the Anthropology of North America (SANA)
Shalini Shankar (

Society for The Anthropology of Religion (SAR)
James Bielo (

Society for The Anthropology of Work (SAW)
Mauri Systo (

Society for Visual Anthropology (SVA)
Gwyneth Talley (